© 2024 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

St. Louis Arts Awards to honor performing arts advocates and educators

Jazz St. Louis Executive Director Gene Dobbs Bradford
File photo | Dennis C. Owsley

The Arts and Education Council of Greater St. Louis will honor two performing arts advocates with lifetime achievement awards during the 2018 St. Louis Arts Awards.

The council announced today that in January it will honor music educator Johnetta Haley of Alton and Dennis Reagan, president and CEO of The Muny, with awards for a lifetime of dedication to the arts.

Gene Dobbs Bradford, executive director of Jazz St. Louis, will receive the award for excellence in the arts. Keith Tyrone Williams, chair of musical theater at Grand Center Arts Academy, will be named arts educator of the year.

In a news release, Cynthia Prost, president of the Arts and Education Council, said she was proud to honor the individuals and organizations that make St. Louis a creative place.

"It is their passion and commitment to the arts that continue to make St. Louis a thriving community for us all to live, learn, work and play," she said.

The Saint Louis Fashion Fund, Art on the Square, and World Wide Technology Inc. will all receive awards for their commitment to supporting the arts in St. Louis.

Follow Willis on Twitter: @WillisRArnold