© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Cardinals Dominate Gold Glove Awards


St. Louis, MO – St. Louis Cardinals have won four of the nine Gold Glove awards for the top fielders in the National League.

Second baseman Fernando Vina, shortstop Edgar Renteria, third baseman Scott Rolen and outfielder Jim Edmonds were all honored.

This is the first time since 1968 that more than two Redbirds have won the awards, and only the second time in Cards history that four teammates won Gold Gloves in one year. In 1963, pitcher Bobby Shantz, first baseman Bill White, third baseman Ken Boyer and outfielder Curt Flood all won.

This year Greg Maddux won his 13th straight Gold Glove. Maddux extends his own NL record for pitchers and moved
within three of the overall record, held by Jim Kaat.