© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Pujols wins second straight National League MVP

(UPI photo/Bill Greenblatt)

By AP/St. Louis Public Radio

St. Louis – For the second year in a row, Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols is the Most Valuable Player in the National League.

Pujols received all 32 first-place votes from the baseball writers who vote on the national awards. He is the first unanimous MVP pick since Barry Bonds in 2002. Pujols is also the first player to repeat as MVP since Bonds won four in a row between 2001 and 2004.

Pujols led the majors with 47 homeruns, and was third in the National League in batting average. In addition to the MVP award, Pujols won the National League's Silver Slugger and Hank Aaron awards this year. The MVP is Pujols's third - he also won in 2005 and 2008.