© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Mo. Senate overrides Nixon's veto, redistricting map becomes law

The redistricting map passed by the Missouri General Assembly is now law.

This afternoon, the Missouri Senate voted 28 to 6 to override Governor Jay Nixon's veto, meeting the two-thirds majority needed.

But the vote did not completely follow party lines.  Three Democrats voted "yes:"Minority Floor Leader Victor Callahan of Independence, Shalon "Kiki" Curls of Kansas City and Jolie Justus, also of Kansas City.  One Republican broke ranks and voted "no:" Bill Stoufferof Napton.

This morning, the Missouri House did likewise, voting 109 to 44 to override the governor's veto.  Republican leaders persuaded four House Democrats to vote with them, including Penny Hubbard,who represents a swath of central and north St. Louis city.

"I served on that redistricting committee," Hubbard said. "I felt that it was a fair, transparent map, and that it was my duty to do the right thing in voting for the people and the constituents in the First Congressional District."

The other three House Democrats who voted "yes" are Jamilah Nasheed of St. Louis, and Michael Brown and Leonard "Jonas" Hughes IV, both of Kansas City.

Minority Floor Leader Mike Talboy (D, Kansas City) was disappointed by the defections, but wouldn’t comment on whether any disciplinary action is pending.

"I think that is a family issue, and we will discuss it as a family," Talboy said.  "When you have disagreements in a family, those are usually best kept inside the family."

Governor Nixon released the follow statement after the override:

"As I have stated before, I do not believe this map reflects a fair representation of the interests for all regions of our state. Not that the map is finalized, we expect a robust electoral process in this significantly altered districts."

Here are some of the map's highlights:

  • It eliminates theThird District, current represented by Russ Carnahan
  • All of St. Louis city is in the First District, currently represented by William Lacy Clay.
  • The Second District, currently represented by Todd Akin,  will absorb Carnahan's portion of St. Louis County, and part of Jefferson County. Lincoln County moves to the new Third District.
  • The rest of Jefferson County would go to the new Eighth District and the current Ninth District, which would become the Third. 
Marshal was a political reporter for St. Louis Public Radio until 2018.
Rachel is the justice correspondent at St. Louis Public Radio.