© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Mo. lawmakers pass limits on late-term abortions

The Missouri State Capitol building in Jefferson City, Mo.
(Marshall Griffin/St. Louis Public Radio)
The Missouri State Capitol building in Jefferson City, Mo.

Note: descriptions of abortion procedures contained in this post may be disturbing to some.

Legislation that would ban so-called “late-term” abortions in Missouri is on its way to Governor Jay Nixon.

The bill passed today by the Missouri Housewould ban abortions after 20 weeks unless two doctors verify that a fetus is not viable, or that it constitutes a medical threat to the mother.  The bill was passed by the Missouri Senate last month.

State Representative Jeff Grisamore(R, Lee’s Summit) called the practice barbaric.

“The thought that it is legal in this nation for a doctor to gash and just penetrate the skull of that baby and suck the brains out of that baby and deliver a dead baby is indefensible,” Grisamore said.

Assistant Minority Floor Leader Tishaura Jones(D, St. Louis) opposed the bill, saying she’s pro-life for herself but pro-choice for everyone else.

“The state needs to get out of my belly, out of my uterus, because that’s my decision between me, my God, and my doctor,” Jones said.

But 17 Democrats joined Republicans in  voting “yes.”

Doctors who violate the proposed law would face at least a year in prison and fines ranging from $10,000 to $50,000. 

But that penalty may not be needed. The state health department says just 63 of the 6,881 abortions recorded in Missouri in 2009 were on fetuses at least 21 weeks old, and none were reported as being viable.

Here's the 121-33 roll call by which the Missouri House voted Thursday to approve additional restrictions on late-term abortions.

     Voting "yes" were 104 Republicans and 17 Democrats.
     Voting "no" were 33 Democrats.
     Not voting was 1 Republican and 4 Democrats.
     Sue Allen, Town and Country.
     Randy Asbury, Higbee.
     Kurt Bahr, O'Fallon.
     Jay Barnes, Jefferson City.
     Mike Bernskoetter, Jefferson City.
     T.J. Berry, Kearney.
     Ellen Brandom, Sikeston.
     Rick Brattin, Harrisonville.
     Cloria Brown, St. Louis.
     Wanda Brown, Lincoln.
     Eric Burlison, Springfield.
     John Cauthorn, Mexico.
     Mike Cierpiot, Lee's Summit.
     Kathie Conway, St. Charles.
     Steve Cookson, Fairdealing.
     Stanley Cox, Sedalia.
     Sandy Crawford, Buffalo.
     Gary Cross, Lee's Summit.
     Paul Curtman, Pacific.
     Charlie Davis, Webb City.
     David Day, Dixon.
     Charlie Denison, Springfield.
     Scott Dieckhaus, Washington.
     John Diehl, St. Louis.
     Tony Dugger, Hartville.
     Kevin Elmer, Nixa.
     Sue Entlicher, Bolivar.
     Barney Fisher, Richards.
     Paul Fitzwater, Potosi.
     Tom Flanigan, Carthage.
     Lyndall Fraker, Marshfield.
     Diane Franklin, Camdenton.
     Ward Franz, West Plains.
     Keith Frederick, Rolla.
     Gary Fuhr, St. Louis.
     Doug Funderburk, St. Peters.
     Chuck Gatschenberger, Lake St. Louis.
     Don Gosen, Chesterfield.
     Jeff Grisamore, Lee's Summit.
     Casey Guernsey, Bethany.
     Marsha Haefner, St. Louis.
     Kent Hampton, Malden.
     Galen Higdon, St. Joseph.
     Dave Hinson, St. Clair.
     Denny Hoskins, Warrensburg.
     Lincoln Hough, Springfield.
     Jay Houghton, Martinsburg.
     Delus Johnson, St. Joseph.
     Tim Jones, Eureka.
     Caleb Jones, Clarksburg.
     Shelley Keeney, Marble Hill.
     Mike Kelley, Lamar.
     Glen Klippenstein, Maysville.
     Andrew Koenig, Ballwin.
     Bart Korman, New Florence.
     Mike Lair, Chillicothe.
     Bill Lant, Joplin.
     Scott Largent, Clinton.
     Brent Lasater, Independence.
     Jeanie Lauer, Blue Springs.
     Melissa Leach, Springfield.
     Mike Leara, St. Louis.
     Donna Lichtenegger, Jackson.
     Tom Loehner, Koeltztown.
     Thomas Long, Battlefield.
     Nick Marshall, Parkville.
     John McCaherty, High Ridge.
     Mike McGhee, Odessa.
     Cole McNary, Chesterfield.
     Chris Molendorp, Belton.
     Bob Nance, Excelsior Springs.
     Myron Neth, Liberty.
     Jerry Nolte, Gladstone.
     Mark Parkinson, St. Charles .
     Don Phillips, Kimberling City.
     Darrell Pollock, Lebanon.
     Craig Redmon, Canton.
     Bill Rieboldt, Neosho.
     Todd Richardson, Poplar Bluff.
     Jeanie Riddle, Mokane.
     Lyle Rowland, Cedar Creek.
     Don Ruzicka, Mount Vernon.
     Rodney Schad, Versailles.
     Dwight Scharnhorst, High Ridge.
     Dave Schatz, Sullivan.
     Ron Schieber, Kansas City.
     Vicki Schneider, O'Fallon.
     Shane Schoeller, Willard.
     Lindell Shumake, Hannibal.
     Ryan Silvey, Kansas City.
     Jason Smith, Salem.
     Sheila Solon, Blue Springs.
     Rick Stream, Kirkwood.
     Mike Thomson, Maryville.
     Noel Torpey, Independence.
     Wayne Wallingford, Cape Girardeau.
     Don Wells, Cabool.
     Ray Weter, Nixa.
     Bill White, Joplin.
     Paul Wieland, Imperial.
     Billy Pat Wright, Dexter.
     Zachary Wyatt, Green Castle.
     Anne Zerr, St. Charles.
     Steven Tilley, Perryville.
     Ira Anders, Independence.
     Joe Aull, Marshall.
     Linda Black, Bonne Terre.
     Michael Brown, Kansas City.
     Ron Casey, Crystal City.
     Pat Conway, St. Joseph.
     Joe Fallert, Ste. Genevieve.
     Ben Harris, Hillsboro.
     Steve Hodges, East Prairie.
     Jacob Hummel, St. Louis.
     Michele Kratky, St. Louis.
     Kevin McManus, Kansas City.
     Tim Meadows, Imperial.
     Paul Quinn, Monroe City.
     Ed Schieffer, Troy.
     Tom Shively, Shelbyville.
     Terry Swinger, Caruthersville.
     Bert Atkins, Florissant.
     Susan Carlson, St. Louis.
     Chris Carter, St. Louis.
     Mike Colona, St. Louis.
     Rory Ellinger, St. Louis.
     Penny Hubbard, St. Louis.
     Leonard Hughes IV, Kansas City.
     Tishaura Jones, St. Louis.
     Jason Kander, Kansas City.
     Chris Kelly, Columbia.
     Jeanne Kirkton, St. Louis.
     Sara Lampe, Sringfield.
     Karla May, St. Louis.
     Gail McCann Beatty, Kansas City.
     Tom McDonald, Independence.
     Margo McNeil, Florissant.
     Genise Montecillo, St. Louis.
     Stacey Newman, St. Louis.
     Mary Nichols, Maryland Heights.
     Jeanette Mott Oxford, St. Louis.
     Sharon Pace, St. Louis.
     Tommie Pierson, St. Louis.
     John Rizzo, Kansas City.
     Jill Schupp, St. Louis.
     Scott Sifton, St. Louis.
     Clem Smith, St. Louis.
     Churie Spreng, Florissant.
     Mary Still, Columbia.
     Jay Swearingen, North Kansas City.
     Mike Talboy, Kansas City.
     Sylvester Taylor, Florissant.
     Rochelle Walton Gray, Florissant.
     Steve Webb, Florissant.
     David Sater, Cassville.
     Jason Holsman, Kansas City.
     Eileen McGeoghegan, St. Ann.
     Jamilah Nasheed, St. Louis.
     Stephen Webber, Columbia.


Marshal was a political reporter for St. Louis Public Radio until 2018.