© 2024 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

St. Louis Public Radio wins six regional Murrow Awards

Protesters in Ferguson in August 2014
Rachel Lippmann | St. Louis Public Radio

St. Louis Public Radio has won sixEdward R. Murrow 2015 regional awards. The honor recognizes St. Louis Public Radio's overall efforts for both digital and radio reporting excellence. This year, awards were granted in ten categories.

Most of the awards recognize the reporting on Michael Brown's death in Aug. 2014 and the protests and unrest that followed. That reporting reflected the efforts of everyone in the newsroom, including St. Louis on the Air, our daily talk show.

Here the categories and stories which won the Murrow awards:

Website:  St. Louis Public Radio live blog. Kelsey Proud and all staff

Writing: "A Teachable Moment" by Tim Lloyd

Use of Sound/Video: "Remembering Gaslight Square" by Veronique LaCapra

Veronique LaCapra's feature, "Remembering Gaslight Square"

Reporting: hard news: "Michael Brown's Death" by Jason Rosenbaum

Jason Rosenbaum's story on Michael Brown's death.

Feature reporting: "Locked In: One family's story from behind the front lines" by Durrie Bouscaren

Durrie Bouscaren's feature, "Locked in"

Continuing Coverage: "Ferguson: Community Reacts" all staff.

You can review all of our coverage of events relating to Ferguson here: The Ferguson Project

The Murrow awards are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association every year. St. Louis is part of Region 5, which includes Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska. All regional winners are considered for a national Murrow award which will be announced in June.

Also winning awards in the Region 5 large market radio division were KMOX for breaking news and investigative reporting, KCUR in Kansas City for news series and Iowa Public Radio for news documentary.

Shula is the executive editor at St. Louis Public Radio.