© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

SLPS to create 13 "full service schools"

By Maria Altman, KWMU

St. Louis, MO – Thirteen St. Louis Public schools will transition into Full Service Schools beginning this fall.

The goal is to provide not only education, but family support including assistance with child rearing, employment, and health care.

District spokeswoman Julie Linder says the district's Division of Community Education has created strong partnerships within St. Louis.

"The community is so in favor of this program that it has taken minimal dollars from the district. It's basically all been funded through community contributions," she said.

Linder says the schools will be Community Education Sites before they transition into Full Service Schools.

The 13 sites will be:

Bevo-Long Middle School
Lyon at Blow Middle School
Clay Elementary School
Ford Elementary School
Hamilton eMINTS Elementary School
Mullanphy Botanical Garden Investigative Learning Center
Nottingham Community Access & Job Training High School
Shaw Visual and Performing Arts Elementary School
Sigel Elementary School
Stevens Middle School
Vashon High School
Walbridge Elementary
Yeatman-Liddell Preparatory Junior High School