© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Blunt taps 25 to serve on campus security task force

By Adam Allington, KWMU

St. Louis, MO – Missouri Governor Matt Blunt nominated 25 people today to serve on a state-wide campus security task force.

Blunt announced the formation of the task force in response to Monday's massacre at Virginia Tech.

Task force members come from a variety of backgrounds including higher Ed, mental health, homeland security and local law enforcement.

Blunt charged the task force with creating a report focused on initiatives to improve safety and heighten security at campus facilities.

"There could be that some campuses will decide, you know what, we really do have some significant things that we need to overhaul others may decide that they just need to make a few minor tweaks on their program. A lot of this is going to be driven I think by the task force recommendations."

Blunt asked Mark James, Director of Public Safety and Dr. Robert Stein, Commissioner of Higher Education to lead the task force.

He asked that the report be complete before the coming fall semester.

Members of the task force include:

- Michael Boxler of Lee's Summit - Missouri Special Agent in Charge, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)
- Kyle Brenneman of Hannibal - Dean of Student Development, Hannibal LaGrange College
- Nancy Bush of Jefferson City - Center for Emergency Response and Terrorism Director, Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
- Lynn Carter of Jefferson City - Deputy Director, Missouri Department of Mental Health
- David Fedder of St. Louis - Partner, Bryan Cave
- Paul Fennewald of Jefferson City - Homeland Security Coordinator, Missouri Department of Public Safety
- Kevin French of Springfield - Director of Safety and Security, Drury University
- Dr. Henry Givens of St. Louis - President, Harris-Stowe State University
- Van Godsey of Jefferson City - Director, Missouri Information Analysis Center
- Clarence Green of Maryville - Director of Campus Safety, Northwest Missouri State University
- Matthew Headrick of Warrensburg - Criminal Justice Student, University of Central Missouri
- James Hughes of Kirksville - Chief of Kirksville Police Department
- John Jordan of Jackson - Cape Girardeau County Sheriff
- Colonel James Keathley of Jefferson City - Superintendent, Missouri State Highway Patrol
- John Kraemer of Cape Girardeau - Associate Professor, Southeast Missouri State University
- Thomas Malecek of Town & Country - Director of Corporate Security, Brown Shoe Company
- Ron Olinger of St. Joseph - Vice President of Financial Planning and Administration, Missouri Western State University
- Mark Potratz of Park Hills - Director of Public Safety, Mineral Area College
- Gary Snavely of Springfield - Director of Safety and Transportation, Missouri State University
- Don Strom of St. Louis - Chief of Police for Washington University
- Rod Surber of Joplin - Director of Public Information, Missouri Southern State University
- Dorla Watkins of Parkville - Vice President for Finance and Administration, Park University
- Jack Watring of Columbia - Director of University Police, University of Missouri - Columbia
- Sheriff Greg White of Jefferson City - Cole County Sheriff
- Chuck Witt of Columbia - Assistant Fire Chief, Columbia Fire Department