© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

11 People Will Run for 3 STL School Board Seats

St. Louis School District Headquarters (KWMU photo)
St. Louis School District Headquarters (KWMU photo)

By Tom Weber, KWMU

St. Louis, MO – The ballot is set for the April School Board election in St. Louis. Tuesday was the last day people could file to run.

In all, 11 people will run for three seats on the board.

The candidates include two people with experience on the board: Current board member Veronica O'Brien and former board president Bill Purdy.

The candidates, as they'll appear on the ballot, are:

- Current Board member Veronica O'Brien
- Former Board President Bill Purdy
- Jennifer Allen
- Frank Kriegel, Jr.
- Monica McNichols-Johnson
- Dan Kinney
- Nancy Galvin
- Joe Moramarco
- Flint Fowler
- Joseph Keaveny
- Peter Downs

The last five people (Galvin - Downs) filed on the last day Tuesday.

O'Brien was appointed to the board by St. Louis Mayor Francis Slay in May after a judge removed former member Rochell Moore. Purdy served 12 years on the board and is a former high school principal. Kriegel is an attorney in St. Louis. Allen is a former attorney and homemaker. Current members Bill Haas and Amy Hilgemann have said they will not seek re-election. Haas is running instead for Mayor. The St. Louis municipal election will be held April 5.


Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.